The restoration process from beginning to end.
(Click any photo for larger view.)
Our appreciation to the artisans – then and now.
The dome was created by the Rudy Brothers (Stained Glass) Company in Pittsburgh, PA, 1904-1906 and installed during the construction of the current building. Rudy Brothers was one of the most prominent Pennsylvania stained-glass companies, which makes the dome not only aesthetically, but also historically important. The firm also created windows for other notable clients such as Allegheny General Hospital, Thomas Sutton Dining Hall and the original Leonard Hall at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
The primary structure of the dome consists of wood ribs that have been cut at regular intervals to bend and shape the dome. In July 2021 scaffolding was erected in the sanctuary to provide the artisans, from the Pittsburgh Stained-Glass Studio, access to the dome to begin disassembly for restoration. The 69 individual panels of stained-glass were disassembled and cleaned with broken pieces epoxied or replaced. Each panel was then reassembled on a wood frame to form the curvatures of the restored dome.
High above the Calvary Church pews, the complete reassembly of the dome was completed in June of 2022. In preparation for reinstallation, Anderson Electric of Indiana, Pa. installed new LED lighting within the enclosure above the dome. The light above the stained glass creates even more vibrant color.